15th Annual International

American Society of Botanical Artists at The Horticultural Society of New York
September 14 – November 21, 2012
  • Echeveria sp.
    Colored Pencil on Film © Dorothy DePaulo

Forty-three artworks by thirty-nine artists chosen from 192 entries were on display. Artists from the US, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Japan, and the UK were included.

Exhibition in Review - Read more


The Horticultural Society
of New York
148 W. 37th Street, 13th Floor
New York, NY  10018


Patricia Jonas
Kathie Miranda
Derek Norman


  • © Heeyoung Kim

The Horticultural Society of New York Best in Show
Heeyoung Kim
Compass Plant

ASBA Eleanor Wunderlich Award for Excellence
Ingrid Finnan
Panicled Hydrangea

Brooklyn Botanic Garden Award for a Print or Drawing
Monika E. deVries Gohlke

Talas Award
John Pastoriza-Pinol
Sierra Dawn Lily

New York Central Art Supply Award
Leah Kaizer
Tasmanian Blue Gum

Ursus Books and Prints Award
Carrie Megan
Northern Red Oak and Gray Birch

Honorable Mention
Lizzie Sanders
Bamboo Grass

Honorable Mention
Andrea Wilson
Flowering Quince

Award Jurors: Kathie Miranda, Pat Jonas, Jessica Tcherepnine

Jurors and Artists comment on the works included in the exhibition

Artist Hillary Parker

Juror Kathie Miranda and Artist Ingrid Finnan

Artist Ingrid Finnan

Juror Pat Jonas

Artist Wendy Hollender

 Juror Jessica Tcherepnine

It's going to be a fun evening!


New and familiar faces fill the gallery

Many are drawn in - taking a closer look

Opening Remarks

 Chris Murtha, Director of Exhibitions, The Horticultural Society of New York

"We owe a big thank you to the artists for their amazing work, for continuing the tradition of botanical art and for moving it forward in new and exciting ways." -

  Robin Jess, Executive Director, American Society of Botanical Artists

"We are here to celebrate the artists who are inspired by the beauty of the plant world...their art is linked to a love of the natural world and dedicated to representing it realistically...but the best of the works never forget that they are art with a capital "A"!

Awards are announced

 Carol Woodin, ASBA Exhibitions Director presenting an award to Ingrid Finnan

  Carrie Megan is recognized for her work.

  Monika deVries Gohlke shows off her certificate to an adoring crowd.

  Award Jurors: (from Left) Jessica Tcherepnine, Kathie Miranda, and Pat Jonas; ASBA President Lea Rohrbaugh (2nd from the Right)

Many of the 39 artists represented are in attendance

 Artists and sisters Dorothy Gardner McCauley and Regina Gardner Milan

 Artist Kerri Weller with her work

  Artist Rose Marie James with her work